Live: Avi Buffalo. Hoxton, London. 28/08/10. 7/10.


Whenever I go to a gig I do my utmost to arrive early in order to get a spot front and middle of the stage, and to avoid the inevitable pushing match between audience members that will commence once the band begins to play. So, when I was running late to the Avi Buffalo show at the Hoxton Bar and Kitchen in Shoreditch, I was already predicting a scrappy fight for a decent view. And true to by prediction, the place was rammed! The band had just begun playing their first song, when I squeezed through the venue doors and clambered through the sweaty onlookers to find a spot to watch from.

Having gathered my composure I settled down to watch the masterful Avigdor Zahner-Isenberg play through all the tracks of his debut album. The band did more than enough justice to album highlights ‘What’s In It For’ and ‘Jessica’. However, similar to the album itself, what really blew me away was Avi’s ability on the guitar. His feel and technical ability is something I rarely see in bands today and for a moment I felt like I could have been watching Hendrix, albeit a white and Jewish version. The band as whole were tight, but merely a side show to Avi(gdor) Buffalo himself. When the show ended, the band walked off stage casually and ignored the crowd’s willingness for an encore. In all honesty I wasn’t too bothered about the band coming back on stage, as Avi alone would have sufficed.

Avi Buffalo – What’s In It For

Avi Buffalo – Jessica

7/10.

From Daniel Rothman.

Sucking Lemons.

Leave a Reply

