Five a Day: Halls.


London producer Samuel Howard AKA Halls talks us through his five favourite albums.

Tim HeckerRavedeath, 1972

I’ve been listening to a lot of Tim Hecker’s music recently, and Ravedeath, 1972 is probably my favourite of them all. I still can’t get my head around how good the album is. The organ sounds in ‘In the Fog’ are unreal, they sound so haunting, and the sounds in ‘In the Air’ and ‘Hatred of Music’ are incredible.

RadioheadKid A

Kid A is my favourite album; it was the first Radiohead album that I properly listened to. I’d never really heard anything quite as emotional or fucked up before I heard ‘Kid A’ and ‘Everything In Its Right Place’. I listened to nothing but ‘Idioteque’ for about a week after I first listened to it. The horn section in ‘The National Anthem’ is brilliant and fits in so well. The combination of Phil Selway’s drumming and programmed beats have been a massive influence on my most recent work, so the album still affects me to this day.

The MicrophonesThe Glow pt. 2

I think that although for me Mount Eerie is generally more consistent than The Microphones, The Glow pt. 2 is my favourite album made by Phil Elverum. The album fits so much in without sounding messy – everything fits together perfectly. The title track is one of my favourite songs ever too.

HoodCold House

Hood’s Cold House is another album that I will never get tired of. Everything is so perfectly arranged and meticulous. ‘They Removed All Trace That Anything Had Ever Happened Here’ has so much going on and the ending with Doseone is brilliant. Big, big influence on me.

The BeatlesRevolver

When I was younger my dad played a lot of Beatles cds, and the one that sticks out for me is Revolver. I grew up with this album and I’m still not sick of it, so it’s going on my list.

Listen to Halls:

http://hallsmusic.net/

Leave a Reply

